Archive | 6:08 pm

Rundown:9/21 to 9/27

21 Sep

So it seems some people thought my little piece on the Drew Barrymore movie, and the ensuing chaos was rather, off balanced. Well the emails, comments, and messages have been pouring in letting me know just how terrible of a person I am.

Being the fair and balanced person that I consider myself, I’ve decided to post the harshest of the comments, in order to let the dissenting voices be heard. I also kinda decided to FJM it.

Whoever wrote this seriously needs to break out the old “English for Writers” that any first year college student has collecting dust on the shelf. Your grammar is so bad it make me cringe.

We’re starting strong here folks, the writer of this comment comes right at me by attacking my writing with a simple suggestion that I pick up a “how to” book that 18 year old with writing aspirations all around the world already have, and taking a dig at my grammar. I personally like it, it’s biting in all the right ways, and is capable of immediately discrediting me as a writer (what little credit I have), though to be honest our editor at large Sean was busy, and the piece was written at 1 a.m. after a long day at work. I was just in no mood to sit down and tear it apart. Let’s see what he/she follows up with.

Also, I think you are a damn liar about saying you were a med student to get your phone in.

Here’s a classic case of some one just not reading close enough. I wrote quite clearly that I was not actually a med student on call, and was just abusing the opportunities afforded to those in the medical field.

Maybe you got past the metal detector but why hide it from the metal detector if you were allowed in for being a medical student. First off, having been to other pre-screenings, I don’t think they would let you in. They would tell you if you are on call that’s too bad. GO HOME! Secondly, if you were a medical student you would have to provide identification to prove as much, which by your own admission you would not have.

Still not reading close enough, and throwing what seems to be prior knowledge about pre-screenings out to prove their point. This is where I point out this comment came from an @yahoo mail address, and to be brutally honest, who the fuck still uses @yahoo? I mean gmail is wonderful, so wonderful you can host company email addresses on it and not miss a beat. The only people still using @yahoo are people over 40, people destined to end up on To Catch a Predator, clueless 13 year olds, and it seems angry Derby fans.
Furthermore,. I would love to meet the jerk that admits to jumping in line (which you also probably didn’t have the nuts to do) and posts it online.

OHHH SNAP SON THERE”S A GRAMMATICAL ERROR IN YOUR COMMENT! FIRE & BRIMSTONE ARE RAINING DOWN ON YOU!

Also, just so it’s on record, I absolutely love nuts. Seriously almonds are delicious, I go through a bag like once every two weeks….Oh, wait he/she was referring to my testicles. Why is it when we question someones fortitude we constantly refer to their testicles? I thought Roller Derby was all about 4th wave feminism? Way to under mind it all by setting your paradigm of toughness to male.

If the derby girls are as crazy as you say they are, I would fear for my life and those tiny nuts of yours.

Again with the nuts. And, I didn’t actually say that derby girls were nuts, that’s just an inference made by this commenter, further proving that some people are just a tad to overprotective about some things. Case in point, during the Q&A an attendee asked Ms. Barrymore why she choose to feature so many illegal moves, which blew my mind. It was a movie, it was supposed to be larger than life, and a bit cartoonish, as a director Ms. Barrymore was allowed creative license to make the film entertaining. Shit’s not a documentary.

What kind of jerk talks about a girl spilling her guts to the crowd of people about her dreadful disease like it was something that bored him or disgusted him?

This is what I take the most issue with, how does one properly convey the emotion floating through the theater with out it becoming tiresome and rote? I choose to keep it short, and balance it out with a bit of humor. the commenter obviously was too busy being offended to catch it.

The person that wrote this is not only a lazy and bad writer but a crappy person. I hope that we meet in person someday so I can give you the ass kicking your mother OBVIOUSLY neglected to give you.

Admittedly, I am a pretty lazy and bad writer, never pretended to be anything other than that. The real fun part here is threat of physical violence, and the accusation that my mother never properly beat me, I’ll have you know they’re right, my mother never properly beat me.

If I miss you in this life, I will catch up with you in hell and make the trip worth your while.

Damn, whoever this is gonna make sure they get me, even if it’s in the after life. Maybe I should make it easier on them. My address is 742 Evergreen Terrace.

“English Handbook for Writers”! Look it up! Get the latest edition. YOU NEED IT! PROOFREAD, PROOFREAD, PROOFREAD.

Got ya!

I’ll do you the favor of not proofreading my post. Maybe you can find some errors if you are not too retarded.

Now that’s just offensive, and I found that one.

It will be good practice for you. If you can’t find the few I left for you, I suggest a revisit to high school English.

As a sub? To pick up girls, by using my @yahoo address?

SCREW YOU!

Are you female? I mean, I’d maybe consider it, you do seem quite fiery.

So to sum it up, was it a a regrettable piece of writing? Yeah a bit. I cut it down from 3000 words to just over 1500, and it is rather poorly written, and could have used another draft and some editing, but I was drunk, my editor was bus, and I had work the next day. Are people massively overreacting? Very much so, but that’s what happens when people care a little too much for things, they go over board.

One thing before we move on, I thought the movie over, and it’s kind of terrible. Imagine the Princess Diaries meets The Bad News Bears remake.

Anyway folks, we’ve got one hell of a week coming up,so  let’s get to the shows.

Continue reading

